top of page

Positional Slaytic Thresholds

As Pro Day data continues to slowly pour in, I have started to look deeper into my Slaytic database. With prospects from 1999 on, there is a lot of raw data to look at. But in doing so, I have started to notice some baseline thresholds that could have usefulness for talent evaluation purposes. These thresholds don't predict who will succeed at the next level though. Rather, they identify a group of players at certain positions who are extremely unlikely to have NFL success. I have been able to find accurate Slaytic thresholds at QB, WR, TE, OT, OG, INT, EDGE, LB, CB, and S. So basically, every position other than RB, FB, and C.

I wrote an article breaking down which QB's were below my Positional Slaytic Threshold (or PST) over at Pro Football Spot. Give it a look if you want learn more about PST.

As mentioned in the article above, QB's below my PST have a success rate of just over two percent. While that's not zero, it's certainly some big odds to overcome. And I wouldn't sink a draft choice into anyone overcoming those odds.

I plan on writing an PST article for each eligible position, and while the success rates likely won't end up near 2%, the rest of them are pretty staistically relevant as well. The WR article is out now too!


Recent posts

bottom of page